ROMANS 8:24-25

Hi friends! Today I am writing about a verse that I came across (surprisingly not on Pinterest) while doing a little bit of Bible research. It really struck me and I hope that it will resonate with you just as much as it did with me.

For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

Romans 8:24-25//NIV Translation

To break this down into a more simple view, I will start with the very first sentence. It is incredibly direct in telling us that our hope has helped save us. Without hope, you have no will or push to do anything. Why study for a test or try in school if you don’t have hope that you will end up doing really well in your classes? Hope is a necessary thing in order to live life. The next two sentences are pretty self explanatory and don’t require much thought. There’s obviously no reason to hope for something when you’ve already achieved that goal; as the verse states “hope that is seen is no hope at all.”

Verse 25 is what I love most about these two verses I think. I’ve been struggling a lot lately remembering to be patient for something that I want. I have to remember that God’s timing is the right timing and just because I see everyone else around me getting the things that I want too, doesn’t mean that I have the right to compare myself to them. We have to have hope for what we want, and with that hope comes the requirement of patience. I say it’s a requirement because without patience your wants become a constant source of negativity and anxiety. God doesn’t make mistakes and that same concept applies to His timing. There is a right time for everything.

So this week I challenge you to have patience in God’s timing and remember that everything plays out a certain way for a reason. There are no mistakes when it comes to God’s work, and there is so much reassurance in that. Thanks so much for reading and check back Wednesday for another post! Also: keep scrolling for a great summary of these two verses (found on Pinterest no less).

Much love & grace,

Jordan

img_8552

 

Leave a Reply

