Hi friends! Tomorrow school starts (for me at least), and I am about to be thrust into my last year of high school. It’s a slightly alarming thought. Once again I was searching through the depths of Pinterest and found the picture that is the cover photo for this post. I love this verse so much and happen to think it’s very fitting for this week as summer ends and school begins.

“When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

-Psalm 61:2//KJV Translation

If you haven’t already, read all of Psalm 61, I promise you that it’s worth the read. Truly all of it fits with the theme of this week. This verse (and passage) is a great reminder to give it to God when we are feeling overwhelmed with what life has been thrusting at us. Stress can afflict even the best of us, and if we don’t find a healthy outlet to relieve that stress then it’s going to cause many more problems in the long run. It’s easy to pick out simple activities that are easy stress relievers, but it’s a harder action to turn to God and let him have your worries and troubles. Often we choose to deal with out emotions individually; we don’t like to pester others with our problems or reveal our vulnerability. The great thing is though is that God wants to see that from us. He revels in getting to be close to us and helping to carry our problems. As this verse states, when you are growing weary turn to God and He will lift you up.

There is no one else in the world that you can turn to and actually load your troubles and worries off onto them. God is the only one who can carry that weight, so why shouldn’t we let Him do just that? Next time your heart begins to grow heavy, pray to God. Confess to Him your problems, emotions, and thoughts. Just because He may already know them doesn’t mean He doesn’t want to hear it directly from you.

Thank you so much for reading, and I wish everyone a happy Sunday. And if you’re starting school tomorrow like me, good luck!

Much love & grace,

Jordan

