SOS! HOW DO I APPROACH BIBLE STUDYING?

Hi guys, long time no see! So in my absence I have really spent a lot of time delving deeper into my Bible studies and finding new methods of studying that make sense for me. And after many trial and error approaches, I have finally found a method that works for me and have decided to share it with you in the hopes that it will inspire constructive studying! So if you’re confused and feeling a little lost in your studies and calling for an SOS, then continue reading! (As I have just finished studying Jeremiah and Lamentations, I will use those books as examples in this post). 

First, before I even start reading, I like to research the book a little bit to get a better basic understanding of it before I begin reading. For example, I would type “Lamentations summary” into Google, and would look through a couple websites until I felt I had grasped the gist of what I was about to read. Something else I do before I begin reading is take a look at a picture I found off of Pinterest (naturally) that gives a short one or two sentence summary of the book. If you would like to take a look at that I’ll attach the picture at the end of the post. 

My next step is to decide how many days I want to spend studying the book. For Jeremiah I did a 12 day study and read four chapters each day, but only spent one day in Lamentations. From there I read one chapter and then journal about it until I have completed the full reading I had planned on for that night. The journaling is pretty simple, and really just a way for me to write down my thoughts and understand what I’m ready about. Here’s how I break down my journaling:

  • Summarize: I like to give a little one to two sentence summary about the chapter. 
  • Main Idea: the main idea is essentially a truth and application from homiletics combined into one. Example: if the passage is about love my truth-application hybrid could be “God’s love is all encompassing and I will strive to love like Him.”
  • Big Picture: when I have finished journaling for all the chapters I have sat down to do I write a broad summary and then an all encompassing truth-application for the entire session. 

Once I have finished journaling, I like to reflect on my thoughts by thinking over what I have written down and praying. If a particular verse or set of verses really stood out to me, I might even take it further and do homiletics for those verses/passage. Any further confusion can be curbed by reading a different Bible translation of the part I am confused on, or asking a friend or someone older who knows the Bible well to help out. 

I know this post was short, but I’m just getting back into the swing of writing this week. My entire “routine” takes anywhere from half an hour to a full hour, depending on the length of the chapters and the amount of journaling and reflection I do. I hope that this will help you in your Biblical studies, or even just kickstart your studies. This method is pretty new to me and improvements can always be made as I practice with it more and more. 

Thanks for reading and have a blessed day! -Jordan 

P.S. See picture attached below for the Bible summaries mentioned earlier! You can save the picture to your camera role by simply clicking it once then holding down once it had loaded completely and clicking “save image.”

P.P.S. I referenced homiletics several times in this post. If you don’t know what that is or want a refresher check out my post all about it with this link: https://shebrewsgood.wordpress.com/2015/11/19/homiletics/

  

Leave a Reply

