So as the Thanksgiving holiday comes to a close many of us seem to forget about being thankful all year ’round (myself included). Sure we can give thanks for everything we’ve got on this one holiday but what about the 364 other days of the year? Now I know what you’re thinking: here comes the classic rant about being grateful blah blah blah. But instead of rolling your eyes and x-ing out of this post, take a couple minutes to let me share my thoughts with you! 

Telling someone else to be thankful every day of the year is easy, but actually carrying out the task is quite hard. Not everyone experiences the same day as you do and not everyone goes through the same things in their life as you either. So instead of just telling you to list the things you’re thankful for and move on with your day I’m going to describe how to take your thankfulness a step further all the way past the holiday season. 

First I tend to compile a list of things in thankful for, whether it’s in my mind or on paper. After that I think about why I’m thankful for each thing on my list, and pray about them each individually. Finally, I like to think about how each of the things I’m thankful for on my list affects my life as a whole. This usually helps me to remember to be grateful for them all year ’round. If I can visualize how they affect me, I tend to think about them more often! 

So this is the method I use to stay thankful. Sometimes I find myself getting dragged down and not being thankful enough for what I have, so I will revisit my list and repeat the steps I listed above. And remember that there is no such thing as too much prayer, so keep praying for the Lord to help you be more thankful day to day. 

“Enter His gates with Thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name.” Psalm 100:4 // NIV Translation

Have a happy and blessed day after Thanksgiving and enjoy all the leftovers!     -Jordan

